1. Best friends

Canterbury, England

‘Come on!  Go higher!’ Jenny shouted.

Katie hung back tentatively.  ‘I’m scared.’

‘Don’t be silly, it’s so much fun!’

‘But what if I fall off?’

‘You won’t.  Come on.

Katie looked at her friend.  Jenny was so brave, much braver than she was.  Katie was scared, looking at how high Jenny could go on the swing – but she seemed to be safe.

‘Come on, Katie!  What are you afraid of?’

Katie took a risk, dragged her legs back as far as possible and swung, high, higher than she’d ever been before.  Jenny was right!  It was so exciting to be so high, so free.

‘See, Katie!  I told you!  You should always trust me.’

—-

Eight years later….

Jenny Cleaver had harboured a crush on Dallas Shallow since they were in year seven.  So when she heard he was having a party in a few days’ time, she was eager to make sure she and Katie were invited.  She really hoped it’d be then that she could tell him how she felt about him.

Sue was intrigued as to why Jenny was suddenly showing such an interest in her homework.  Her daughter was clearly after something.

‘Is everything OK, Jen?’

‘Mmmm-hmmmm’

‘School going OK?’

‘Mmm’

‘Anything you want to talk about?’

‘No, mum, I’m fine’.

‘OK.  Well, don’t forget, the Domans are coming over for tea tonight.  The weather’s good, so I think your dad wants to do a barbecue’.

Since the girls were such good friends, Sue and Bob Cleaver occasionally had Simon and Jane Doman over for meals.  It seemed silly not to make friends with them, seeing as they lived so close and the girls were always round each other’s houses anyway.

Sue couldn’t wait to see their faces when they tasted the new savoury couscous recipe she’d picked up from her food magazine.  The key was the chipotle spices and the roasted peppers – it would go just right with those  organic steak fillets Bob had picked up from the butcher’s.

Sue loved playing host.  As she poured the pina coladas, she asked Simon and Jane whether they’d seen the documentary the night before about the new Saatchi exhibition at the Tate Modern.

‘It was fascinating’, Bob chipped in.  ‘The new work by Hirst looks incredibly creative, though I can’t say I’m impressed by the nonsense the Chapman brothers keep churning out.’

‘Erm, no, we missed that, I’m afraid.’ replied Simon.  Neither he nor Jane really felt comfortable enough to admit that they’d actually been watching Britain’s Got Talent.

Jane and Simon both reached for the cocktails.  If they were going to get through this evening, then they would certainly need a little lubrication.

Katie and Jenny talked long into the evening, until long after Katie’s parents had gone home and Jenny’s had retired to bed. Jenny was so excited to tell Katie about the party.

‘I think I’m going to ask Dallas out at the party. Do you think I should? Do you think he’ll say yes? What should I wear? What are you going to wear? I don’t want to be too tarty, or too casual… I hope Melissa Thomas isn’t going. I swear she’s after Dallas. I hate her, she’s such a cow.  I heard she snogged David Wright AND Jamie Corbin all in one night, and that was when Jamie was still going out with Kaya and everything’.

Katie took a bite out of the marshmallow and swallowed, hard.  She took a deep breath.

‘I don’t think I’m going’.

Jenny was affronted.  ‘You have to!’

‘It’s the night before the maths exam’

‘So?’

‘So?  I need to do well’

‘You always do well’

‘I don’t care.  I don’t want to be tired or hungover.  You know I want to do maths at college.  It’s alright for you, you don’t need to do well to do textiles‘.

Katie’s comments hung in the air.  She wished she could take that comment back.  She knew it was the one thing at school Jenny excelled at, the one thing she really loved.  She willed time to reverse, willed it to go away, willed herself to have not been so stupid, so callous.

‘Fine’.  Jenny retorted. ‘I’m off to bed’.

The next morning, Katie was desperate to apologise, but Jenny cut her off.

‘Don’t bother, K.  I know you don’t think my textiles course is as good as doing A-Levels.  There’s no point in pretending.  It’s fine.  I’m not as clever as you.  I don’t know if I’ll get into university like you will.  Don’t even say anything.’

They sat in silence until Simon came to pick Katie up.

Jenny was so excited. Her stomach was churning in nervous anticipation and she’d changed her clothes three times already. She couldn’t wait to see him, couldn’t wait to tell him how she felt, to tell him she loved him. She wondered what he would say. What if he said yes? Would he want to go all the way? She wondered if she was ready. She wanted to be. She wanted it to be him.

On her way to Dallas’s house, Jenny decided to call on Katie and see if she could change her mind. She would feel much more confident if her best friend was with her. This was a really important night for her and she really wanted Katie around.  Their spat of a few days ago had already been forgiven (if not quite forgotten).  Best friends didn’t bear those kind of grudges.  Best friends were there for each other.  Jenny needed Katie to be there for her.  She was always the courageous one, the one who gave Katie support, but now she needed the favour returning.

‘Come on.  Please‘.

‘I already told you.  I need to revise.  I’m sorry, I am, I just can’t’.

‘You don’t have to drink.  You don’t even have to stay long.  Please come, for me.  I need you’.
‘I can’t.  You’ll be fine, I know you will.  Tell me about it tomorrow’.

Katie watched her friend disappear into the night and wasn’t even sure whether she wanted to hear the details the next day.  This was how it was going to be from now on, she could see it.  When they went to college Jenny would be out partying, and dating.  She’d make new friends on her course, and so would Katie.  Things were going to change and they may as well get used to it now.  They were different people and they were going to take different paths.  It wasn’t how Katie wanted it to be, but it was inevitable.


But Jenny didn’t recount her tales of the night to Katie the next day. Her bed went unslept in that night, and the night after, and the night after that. Jenny Cleaver hadn’t even made it to Dallas’s party.

Jenny was gone.

_______________________________________________________________________

Author’s note: In Britain, ‘college’ doesn’t have the same meaning as in America.  College here is where you do professional or intermediate qualifications, such as vocational courses or ‘A-levels’ (more academic courses that are usually a prerequisite for university, though some vocational courses also get you to uni).  It’s often a stepping stone for 16-18 year olds after they leave school and before they go to university.

About Rad

Sheffield based academic and entertainment geek.
This entry was posted in Chapters and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

50 Responses to 1. Best friends

  1. FortA says:

    Wow! This was a great chapter, I don’t know why you were nervous about it!

    And that…ending…was…CHILLING! Mysteries are my absolute favorite things — I cannot wait for more of this story!

    Forta

    • Rad says:

      I’m glad you like it. I was nervous about this chapter because I changed it a whole bunch of times and because there was a lot of dialogue in it, and I’m not used to packing things with dialogue…

  2. laura says:

    Oh, wow! What an ending!!! Is that a GONE kind of gone??? I guess that’s what we’ll find out, huh? I’ll certainly be checking in for the next piece!

    Great teenage dialogue – “she’s such a cow” lol! And I love the dynamics between the two of them. It’s tough at that age, when they’re studying such different things. I hope that isn’t the last they’ll get to say to each other.

    Can’t wait to read more! 🙂

    • Rad says:

      Thank you! It’s great to see you here. Is it a GONE kind of gone? Well, what can I say? I can promise that you will find out what has happened to her at some point. I’m not so cruel as to keep that a mystery forever.

  3. tesseracta says:

    This is very intriguing!

    I thought the exposition and set-up was done well. I saw that they had this longstanding history together, but that there was conflict in their friendship because of the changes that come when one grows up, and because of their very different personalities.

    Jenny is wild and adventurous, and Katie is cautious and responsible. What will Katie do next now that Jenny is gone? Looking forward to finding out.

    • Rad says:

      Thanks very much! I took out sooooo much padding so I’m glad you got the essence of their personalities and friendship.

  4. Simlia says:

    SO exciting. . and I love the fact that its set in Canterbury, England. I visited once, and it was beautiful. I love the references as well, Britain’s Got Talent is so much fun to watch and I would rather watch it than a documentary.
    But the real mystery is the fact that she was taken!! OOooo I’m excited to see what happens. Great start.

    • Rad says:

      I’ve never actually been to Canterbury, not sure why, but it seemed as good a place as any. Don’t expect to see the cathedral or anything, I can’t even build reasonable looking houses. It’s not necessarily all going to be set there though…

  5. Simlia says:

    It just brings me back, I can’t build houses or sets for anything.. have you seen the Stephansdom’s house? Its all the same colour walls and its literally a box. I just think the story is really cool and can’t wait for more!

    • Rad says:

      All my sims live in boxes. Actually I made some vague attempts at actual houses for the Domans and Cleavers but you’re not that likely to see the exteriors much.

  6. mmmtoast says:

    Fantastic first chapter. You did a really nice job at comparing and contrasting the two girls. The story is very intriguing, it really sucks you in. Great writing.

    I liked the dialogue a lot. Its very difficult to write believable dialogue, but you made it seem effortless. I liked the family contrast, as well. How the Cleavers were so very separate from the Domans. It was very realistic. I think too many stories (and tv and movies) have these whole huge family friend fest when its just not reality.

    Very excited to see more of it.

    Toast

  7. YAY!!! It’s great! 🙂

  8. turing791 says:

    How refreshing British.

    • Rad says:

      I hope people don’t mind the British references… I want the settings to feel real but not alienating.

  9. DB loves her Mac says:

    Splendid beginning! I look forward to more!

    The parental personalities were deftly defined. You communicated so much without giving laundry lists of adjectives. It sets up the reasons why the girls would be so different but still be intrigued by each other. I wonder how Jenny’s disappearance will change Katie in outward and inward ways…

    Funny… I always think of girls named Jenny as being brunettes.

    Thanks for the college/uni notes!

    • Rad says:

      I know a mix of blonde and brunette white Jennys and one black Jenny. No asian ones though. Probably the odd ginger one, too, if I think about it hard enough!

  10. tipix7 says:

    Amazing first chapter, I absolutely loved it! Can’t wait to see what happens next!

  11. thelunarfox says:

    This was a perfect introduction. Captivating! I can’t wait for the next chapter.

    Was this the chapter you were worried about info dumping? If so, I figured I should let you know I’m taking notes from this.

    • Rad says:

      Aww, thanks. Your advice was great, actually. Other than some of the shots, nothing remains of the first draft of it (which was very info-dump heavy).

  12. S.B. says:

    I was in love with this from the first sequence in the swings. You established something right there: risk, trust, love. And some phenomenal shots.

    The loose time sequence, the writing, the references backwards and forwards, this is really really good! I’m only sorry it took me so long to get here, and I apologize for that.

    • Rad says:

      You don’t need to apologise for anything, I tend to only have one long and one medium sim blog checking session a week so I certainly don’t expect anyone else to be commenting the moment I post something up!

      Thanks for your great comments. I hope you enjoy the directions it’s going to take.

  13. gayl says:

    This is such an intriguing opening! Funny how saying one wrong thing can really change a relationship. And even more interesting how different the families viewed each other. Very believable dialog and I absolutely love mysteries not to mention the fact that it takes place in Canterbury.

    Wonderfully done screen caps, gorgeous colors and settings. I’m really looking forward to more.

    • Rad says:

      Thanks so much. This part takes place in Canterbury but that doesn’t mean it all does. I was worried about the dialogue so I’m pleased you found it believable.

  14. medleymisty says:

    OMG. This is very well done and I’m all happy and excited to see you doing a non-challenge story.

    I like it very very much. *hugs new story* Off to add you to my blogroll, yay!

    • Rad says:

      Yay! Thanks! New update might not be til Weds – am away at the mo with intermittent internet access.

  15. pinkfiend1 says:

    I have a dreadful feeling I’m going to need tissues for this story.
    It’s wonderful Rad. It seems so real. And it’s british 🙂
    I wish this was like a book so I can flip to the end just to make sure everyone is ok, before reading it properly.

    • Rad says:

      Awwww, fankyooo…

      I don’t even exactly know the end yet. I mean, I know the endings for some characters, but not all of them yet. Will you need tissues? I don’t know, maybe for some chapters.

      You flip to the end of books? I never let myself do that! 😉

  16. Love this story. I’m considering doing a non-challenge story through this.

    David Wright is my dad’s name. o.O

    • Rad says:

      Really? Haha, that’s funny.

      Non-challenge stories require more staging but it’s nice to just whack up all the cheats and ignore the sims’ wants for a change.

  17. raquelaroden says:

    Yay! A mystery! This is a wonderful beginning, Rad. 🙂 We’re all wondering what happened to her and how things will develop from here. Like so many others here, I think the dialogue really rings true.

    • Rad says:

      Thank you! It’s not going to be a mystery in the same sense as yours is… no way could I compete with Ed! Really glad you like it so far.

  18. jalode says:

    Wow, wonderful start.

  19. Sianystar says:

    oh em gee. this is brilliant!! very mysterious, off to read more (:

  20. moondaisy101 says:

    This is great, Rad! Everything I wanted to say has already been said in the comments.
    At some point I thought Katie was reluctant to go to the party because she was interested in the same boy, but it’s far more sinister than that! Lovely wrting and great pics. 🙂

    • Rad says:

      No she’s not interested in the same boy, just concerned about exams and also rather self-conscious and insecure – a party would bring out those insecurities even more, all that comparison with other teens!

  21. illandrya says:

    Thank you for this great introduction chapter. I have thoroughouly enjoyed meeting Jenny and Katie. Everything from the discomfort of their parents to the mile a minute monologue of Jenny as she tells Katie of her decision to ask out Dallas (or is it simply a talk out loud try to convince herself it’s the right idea kind of conversation?) rang completely true with me. I’m moving on to the next chapter straight away 🙂

  22. ~Drew says:

    Great opening, look forward to reading more! Already the hook of a mystery, great stuff!

  23. styxlady says:

    Oh wow…for some reason, at the beginning of the story, I thought it would be Katie who was taken. I’m very curious to see what happens next, and I’m glad I’m late to the story so I can just move right on to the next update!

  24. faithway12 says:

    Exicting ending(: Great job! 😀

  25. bagley777 says:

    It’s a little fast-paced at first, but still really good! I love the dialogue, it’s so realistic! Awesome job. 🙂 Off to read more now!

    • Rad says:

      Oh God, having dragged it out this long it no longer feels fast-paced to me! But I guess reading it all in one go it would do!

  26. Mira says:

    Gone? Where did she go? Did Mr. Grim Reaper come for her?How did it happen? Was it a crash? A murder? A… suicide? The questions! Very good story!

Leave a comment