Over – and thank you

So it’s over. When I started writing this, I envisaged it taking a year. It took three and a half. I’ve enjoyed storytelling using sims but I’m not sure I’d do it again – at least not on such an epic scale – the photoshoots were fun – I liked creating sets and costumes – but hard work, and the reason it took so long to tell. For now, I’ll stick with gameplay stories.

But this story has done so much for me – made me fall in love with writing again – to the extent that I am now about to start the third year of a part-time creative writing master’s degree. I just have to write a full novel this year, that’s all! (And no, it’s not this one, although there are some similarities in places – multi-character, teens and adults etc)

I’m so grateful to the many people who’ve read, commented, encouraged, made me scenery or sims, promoted this story and been in any other way involved. Thank you so much for all your support. I hope you enjoy the final chapters and epilogues.  I’ve also set up a Q&A page for any questions you have about the story.  I tried to tie up most loose ends but I’m sure I’ll have forgotten something, so that’s the place to let me know!

And Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

Rad xx

About Rad

Sheffield based academic and entertainment geek.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Over – and thank you

  1. Elizabeth says:

    It has been wonderful to read the story as it unfolds. I found it after most was already written but loved the surprise of opening my inbox and finding a new chapter released. Thank you for sharing your story with all of us.

  2. Tori says:

    Like Elizabeth, I’ll be sad to know that my day will never be cheered in the same way by seeing an update in my inbox.
    Would you mind putting your sims up for download?
    Or give the links to the world(s) you used?
    Thank you for allowing us to read such a wonderful story.
    Happy Holidays!

    • Tori says:

      I just noticed that was worded awkwardly. Sorry.
      Seeing an update in my inbox would never fail to cheer me up, and I’m sad to know that I won’t be cheered up that way again.

    • Rad says:

      I mostly just used EA worlds I think, apart from a New York world that is, or was, out there somewhere. I’ve never attempted to create a world. Wasn’t planning on putting these sims up, mainly because it’s a faff but if there is so eone in particular you want I can probably sort it out. Thanks for reading 🙂

  3. Luna says:

    Wow, I can’t believe it’s over! I really enjoyed reading this, and may read it over again now that it’s all finished up. In some ways this story has inspired me to make sims stories, mainly to help me start writing more. I love making stories but always forget to write them down, so I think making sims stories will help. Anyways, thank you for making this story! I thoroughly enjoyed it, and merry Christmas Rad!

  4. pinkfiend1 says:

    Brilliant story Rad. I’ve really enjoyed reading it.
    I hope your masters goes well. Well it should go well, because you are a fab writer.

  5. marsar2 says:

    I just have to say THANK YOU. Thank you for sharing such a beautiful story -which I thoroughly enjoyed reading-, and thank you because it has encouraged and inspired me to try and improve my own writing.

    I’d wish you good luck with your master’s degree, but I don’t think you need any -you are a talented writer :D.

    And Happy New Year to you too!

    • Rad says:

      Oh I do need luck, because I need to discipline myself to sit down and write!! Thank you for reading and commenting x

  6. SimBlip says:

    Best story ever, Rad!
    Merry Christmas – from both of us 🙂

  7. fluffymao says:

    I’ve only recently discovered this, and haven’t finished it yet, but I just wanted to say that this story is fantastic! That’s whay I nominated it for that Liebster Award! ^_^

Leave a Reply

